Flag of Spain

Ada

15, Female Student ID: 228INSP119JYF Spain

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Gymnastics
Music
Reading
Skiing or Snowboarding
LETTER FROM Ada

Ada

Hello,

My name is Ada, I’m 15 years old, I was born and live in Spain and I am excited to be able to live this experience, which for me is making a dream I have had since I was a little girl comes true.

I’ve always been attracted by the American culture and the American lifestyle. I love to watch American movies that show how American students live, how they practice sports, the cheerleaders, etc.

My father, because of his work, has a close relationship with the United States and many times I’ve tried to convince him to move to the United States, but so far it has not been possible.

I’m very grateful to my parents for the effort they are making to give me this opportunity and above all I am very grateful to my American family for welcoming me as a member of your family. I am sure that we are going to share together a very exciting year and get to know the way of life and customs of both countries. Obviously, I will live them in first person, but I will also tell you about the customs of my country. And who knows, maybe someday you will be able to come and visit us and experience them by yourselves.

I would like to tell you about myself so that you can get to know me a little better, and I hope you choose me to be a member of your family for a year.

Physically, I have quite dark hair, almost black, I am about 66 inches tall and quite thin. I wear glasses or contact lenses because I have some nearsightedness.

I consider myself an optimistic and cheerful person. At first I may seem a bit shy, but I quickly gain confidence.

Four years ago, we moved from the big city, where we lived in a flat, to a small town on the outskirts of the city, to a single-family house. My parents wanted us to be able to spend more time outdoors and enjoining the nature. So I had to change the school, make new friends and get used to living in a different place. And the truth is that I adapted to the change very quickly. Now I keep in touch with my old friends through social media and I have a new group of friends, who are great, and we love each other a lot.

My friends and I do a lot of things together, we go for walks around the town, sometimes we go to a shopping mall or to have a snack.

I am a very sporty girl, throughout my life I have practiced many sports, when I was younger, I practiced rhythmic gymnastics and since a couple of years ago I changed it for artistic gymnastics, which I practice every week.

I love skiing and I was trainining with a ski club for several years, and I even participated in some competitions. Now I only ski as a hobby with my family. Every year we make a family trip to go skiing at a ski resort. Since there are also some ski resort near where I live, we also go skiing on weekends when there is snow.

Let me tell you about my family, we are my father, my mother and my little brother. I’m four years older than him, so he is 11 years old. If I’m in love with United States, he is in love with Australia. He says that when he grows up he is going to live in Australia, he is very funny and very affectionate, he is always giving us kisses and telling us that he loves us.

My father and mother both work in the IT sector, in different companies. They both studied Physical Science at university, where they met.

I would like to study medicine, specializing in oncology, because I would like to help people to overcome this disease and collaborate in research to overcome it.

I have to study hard to get very good grades, since medicine is a very difficult career and requires a very high grades to get into the university.

This year I am in 10th grade. My favorite subjects are Physics, Chemistry and Biology.

I am also very good at computer science, in the last course I got an honorable mention. And I have participated two years in an international project that tries to encourage girls to enter the technology sector. The program is called “Technovation Girls”. In the last year my group of five friends defined and developed an application to help older people to take their medications. We didn’t qualify for the finals, but we had a lot of fun and learned a lot of things.

My new school gives a lot of importance to English, so I have many hours a week of this subject, and some subjects are also taught in English. They also give a lot of importance to sports and we have a swimming pool in the school, so every week we have swimming lessons.

We go to school from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and I have lunch at school. So at home we take advantage of the dinners to talk and tell our parents how the day went. Between my brother and I we divide up the tasks of setting and clearing the table for dinner. And we also have to keep our rooms tidy. On weekends when we have more time we also help out a little more at home by cleaning our bathroom and vacuuming.

Dinner is usually prepared by my parents, but as I like cooking very much, some nights I give them a hand, especially on weekends and I try to prepare a dish.

Our countries have very different cultures and customs, and I would love to share with you and tell you how life is in Spain. But as an example at Christmas we are very lucky because we adopt your custom of Santa Claus, but we also celebrate the day of the Three Wise Men (January the 6th), so we receive gifts twice. And on December the 31st, just when the twelve bells of the clock ring, when the year ends and the new one begins, we eat 12 grapes, one for each bell, at the rhythm of the bells, and when they end, we cheer and kiss each other, by the new year. The tradition says it brings luck for the new year, so everyone does it.

I hope you liked my presentation to choose me to be a member of your family for a year. I am so nervous and excited that I want this time to pass very fast and be living in the United States. I know I will miss my family and my friends a lot, but I also know I will have an unforgettable experience and I will make very good friends in the United States and hopefully one day you will be able to visit us.

Best regards,

Ada

Please feel free to share: