Flag of Italy

Alice

16, Female Student ID: 228SVIT049JYF Italy

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Cooking
Reading
Skiing or Snowboarding
Travel
Volleyball
LETTER FROM Alice

Alice

Dear host family,

My name is Alice, I’m sixteen and I live in a little town in northern Italy. Writing this letter makes me realize that slowly my dream is about to come true and I still can’t believe it.

I live in a small town near one of the biggest Italian cities. I go to a linguistic high school in a town near to where I live. The three subjects I study the most are English, French and Spanish. During my free time I often go out with my friends, usually we stay at the park or at the café and sometimes we go to Milan: I love going there because it is a big and busy city. My best friend is amazing, we are the same age and we’ve known each other since kindergarten but we’ve been best friends for four years. In many aspects our personalities are opposites: I want to explore the world, I’m a person who puts her head before the heart and I don’t show much affection, while she is the opposite; maybe that’s why we get along so well.

Besides being with my friends, I love spending time with my family. My dad is 46 and he is an employee in the insurance field; my mom is 46 and an employee; I’m not an only child, in fact I have a younger brother, he is 14. Even though we used to fight all the time when we were kids, we get along really well now. Many times I think I’m lucky because I have a very united family, we often do activities together and in winter, during the weekends, we often go to our house in the mountains.

The first adjectives that come to my mind when I think about me are determined and ambitious: I’m determined because if I want to achieve a goal I do my best and after some sacrifices I reach it; I consider myself an ambitious person because I dream big and I have many goals in my life. I love meeting new people and I love crowded places, I like staying with people that don’t judge and that make me smile. I don’t like creating problems or arguing with people and in fact I’m very calm and I always try to adapt. When people need someone to talk to they often come to me because I guess I’m a good listener.

I like to make new experiences, I am not afraid to try new things and I also enjoy adrenaline activities or outdoor activities exploring breathtaking landscapes. As I said before, the thing I love the most is to travel and I hope to continue to be able to do it when I grow up, alone or with my friends, without thoughts or worries, just visiting new cities and having fun.

When I was little I played a lot of sports, some of them are swimming, volleyball and indoor climbing. My favorite sport is volleyball. Two sports that I’ve always wanted to try are ice skating and cheerleading: the second one I hope I’ll be able to try in the United States. When I’ll be in the United States I can’t wait to get to know a new culture and at the same time I hope to share mine, for example through the delicious Italian cuisine: cooking typical dishes and talking about my life in Italy. I would like to feel part of your family and I will have no problem helping you. I hope that you will be happy with me and I hope that this will be a wonderful year both for me and for you.

Best regards,

Alice

Please feel free to share: