Flag of Spain

Álvaro

15, Male Student ID: 198INSP038JYM Spain

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Dance
Drama or Theater
Swimming
LETTER FROM Álvaro

Álvaro

Hi! My name is Álvaro. Thank you for considering me!

I consider myself as a chatty, easy-going, funny, and a bit extravagant person (when talking about clothing). I also love travelling very much. Another important fact of myself is that I love art, I like painting, dancing, and singing, although I don´t really sing very well. When I was younger, I used to go to painting classes but then I discovered that I preferred dancing, so I started with this hobby going to ballet and contemporary dance five times a week. At present, I continue going to contemporary dance 3 times a week.

My mum works in a pharmaceutical company as Marketing Technician; my father works for a steel firm as Accounts Manager. I also have sister who is 20 years old and she is studying at university. I have a very good relationship with my sister but sometimes we fight (as brother and sister). I have five cousins: one of them is 22 years old, another is 18 years old, and both are studying at university like my sister. I have two grandmothers: one who lives in the south of Spain as my cousins and one that lives near my house. Unfortunately, my grandfathers passed away many years ago.

I study in a school, which is 15 minutes driving distance from my house and is a very good school. It has many student facilities like a big swimming pool where you can swim whenever you want; it also has a gym, a library and many rest areas. My school is bilingual which means that English has an important role in the education; I learned Biology and Geology, Geography and History and Physics and Chemistry in English. One of my favorite subjects is Biology or Chemistry so in the future I´d like to study something related with this. My grade in Spain (3º of ESO) corresponds to ninth grade in U.S.A, which is a difficult grade in Spain as it is a change of cycle. Most of my friends are from my school as I spend most of my time there.

My best friend is called Lucia and we go to the same class, she is my best friend because I think we understand each other very well. Ana is also one of my best friend because when we are together, we laugh a lot. I usually go shopping or we go to the cinema with my friends, for example the other day we saw “Aquaman”. I did not mention before, but I love movies, since I was a child, I used to go with my mother every Friday to the cinema and sometimes we used to watch two movies. One of my favorite movies is “Titanic”, “Fifth Wave” or “Insidious”.

I can´t finish this letter without saying I´m the fan number one of “Game of Thrones”! I´ve seen it twice in Spanish and one in English. For me Game of thrones is the best TV show ever made, I just love it. I have a collection of Got-figures in which I include “Funko-pop” or the “Daenery´s drogon egg”. My favorite character is Daenerys Targaryen because I think we share the same personality, which means I am like her but without dragons and my favorite house is the “Targaryen”. As I said before I have “Funko-Pop” from “Got” but I also have a collection of this big-heads figures: 3 from “Stars Wars”, 6 from “Strangers things” and few more.

As I mentioned in the beginning of this letter I love travelling; I have traveled 5 times on a cruise all over Europe. I also have been to London, Paris, Berlin, Rome, Venice, St. Petersburg, Oslo, Stockholm, Barcelona and Athens. I´ve also been twice to Mexico and Dominican Republic but I have never gone to U.S.A.

I consider myself an ecologist person. I donate money for “Greenpeace”. I also try to eliminate palm oil from my diet; I also support the animal rights but I´m not vegetarian or vegan, as I eat both fish and meat. I love Italian, Mexican and Indian food. My favourite dish from the Indian food is the “Tikka Masala” and from the Italian food is the “Tagliatelle 4 Formaggi”.

I am very concerned about the equality between women and men as in my family both my mum and dad work out of home and are equals. Another trait of my personality is that I love debates to understand different kind of opinions.

Regarding the weather, I would say that I prefer cold temperatures rather than heat, so my favorite season is winter and Christmas. My family and I usually decorate our home with lot of lights and with a big Christmas tree. When the Christmas Eve arrives, all my family came to my house and then we open the gifts. The last week of the year we normally go to south of Spain, where my father´s family lives, to celebrate the New Year’s Eve. In Spain, it is very typical eating grapes to celebrate the arrival on a new year.

I also love Halloween and I use to dress up as a zombie, putting fake blood on my clothes, and then I go to my friend´s houses to have a party with many people.

I would like to end this letter by mentioning all the reasons I have to go to U.S.A for 10 months: the first one and the most obvious is to improve my English and to get the real American accent. The second reason is that U.S.A is one of my favorite countries and to live there for almost a year is for me a dream I would like to come true. The third reason is that I would like to be able to exchange culture with an American family and I will be very keen to tell my guest family many things about Spain or even to cook some typical dish from here. Another important reason for me is that living almost one year out of your country is a very useful experience, which will be very valuable for me in my future life.

Finally, I would like to finalize this letter by thanking my guest family for considering me as a candidate to share almost a year with them. I am so excited with this experience that I will do my best to take advantage of this to learn many things from the American culture and way of living.

With warmest regards form Spain!!