Flag of Poland


16, Female Student ID: 238PERPOL023JSF Poland

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!



Dear future Host Family!

Thank you for taking your time to read my letter! I’m Amelia , I’m from Poland and I’m 16 years old. I live in a small city near Warsaw (Polish capital city).

There are 5 people in my family. First of all there is my dad who is usually stern and serious but always finds time to joke around. My mom is kind and outgoing and has amazing people skills. I also have two older brothers. One is super energetic and loud. He no longer lives with us but still always makes the house shake when he visits. The other brother on the other hand is calm and quiet but he is great at cooking and knows a lot of interesting facts. Personally I think that I’m something in between them. We also love animals and have three cats and three dogs. All of them are rescues. What I love the most about my family is that I feel safe and comfortable with them.

My family always say that I’m cheerful, optimistic and easygoing. Although at first I may seem shy and withdrawn when I warm up to someone I come out of my shell. My mother says that I am an honest person because I have hearty appetite, which is true as I love all kinds of food. My favorite foods are bananas with chocolate, everything related to potato such as fries or hash browns, kopytka which is a traditional Polish dish. I also adore bubble tea.

When I started high school I was afraid of people and being on my own but with time, effort and support from wonderful people in my life I was able to overcome this, become more confident and raise my self-esteem.

As far as I remember I was interested in the idea of doing an exchange year but I always told myself that I would not be able to do it. I convinced myself to do it in order to show myself that I made real progress and have become more independent and can still improve. I think that I’m a great candidate because I’m open to learn about a new life style and culture and I’m trying to be as open as I can. When I first started to learn English I didn’t really like it but after some time I became pretty interested in it. I started watching videos on YouTube even though I didn’t understand everything and I think that it was the main thing that helped me in learning English.

I love sports and I have a lot of hobbies such as roller skating, cycling, traveling whenever I’m at the airport it always feels like an adventure is about to begin and I’m always so excited. However my biggest hobby is definitely Gymnastics. I have been doing it for 7 years and that’s one of the most important things in my life.

Since Gymnastics is a big part of my life I would like to use this one in a life time opportunity and try my hand at being a cheerleader in my future American high school

Thank you so much for sticking with me so far I’m looking forward to meeting you and learning more about your culture in the coming year.



Please feel free to share: