Flag of Spain

Angela

15, Female Student ID: 228IWSP039JYF Spain

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Band and Orchestra
Basketball
Cooking
Gymnastics
Reading
Skiing or Snowboarding
Volleyball
LETTER FROM Angela

Angela

Dear family,

My name is Ángela, and I am 15 years old. I live in a normal-size house, located in a town in Spain. I live with my parents, my sister and my dog, although my sister has been in the USA for a year. I want to thank you because if you are reading this letter, it means that my introduction has caught your attention. I am very excited to be part of a family from a different country so that I can learn a lot about you and your culture.

This experience will be amazing as it will give me the chance to step out of my comfort zone so I can learn new things and become more independent and mature. One thing I love to do is play the piano, I have been playing the piano since I was seven and I practice every day. My favorite sport is gymnastics since I see that it is like an artistic sport and with elegance, although I also love volleyball. A hobby that I love to do is cooking, I cook dishes of all kinds. Although I love playing the piano, doing gymnastics, playing volleyball, and cooking, my favorite hobby is without a doubt playing with my dog. When I play with him, I feel like I’m a little girl again, since when I was little I always wanted a dog and when he came to my house I screamed with joy.

I love spending time with my sister, because besides being my sister she is my best friend. she is a tall girl with black hair and green eyes who loves to play basketball, which I sometimes play with her. Every weekend my father loves to go up to my room when I am studying and ask me if I want to go cycling with him, although I never go because he goes very fast and likes to take very long routes. He is a very tall man with black hair and green eyes. My mother is a not very tall woman with brown hair and brown eyes. One thing we love to do as a family and we do many weekends is to go out to the movies and then to have dinner out. We also love to travel abroad and see more parts of the world. One of the trips we have made that has been my favorite is to go 10 days to Mexico. Every year we go skiing around the end of February, but this year we couldn’t because of the coronavirus. The responsibilities I have at home are many, every day I make my bed, I put my clothes in the closet, I tidy up my room, I clean the kitchen and during the week I make myself lunch and some days dinner.

My day to day is such that like this: at 7 in the morning I get up to get ready for school. I wash my face, my teeth, I put on my creams and I put on a little makeup. Then I put on my uniform, make my bed, and tidy up my room. When I finish, I go down to the kitchen and have a banana with an orange juice squeezed at home for breakfast. At 8 we left home and picked up a friend of mine to go straight to school. When I leave school I come home, depending on the day, between 2:30 and 3:30, and I prepare my food. I pack up the kitchen and go up to my room to study. The extracurricular classes I have are Piano and English, piano on Fridays for an hour and a half and English on Thursdays for an hour. We usually have dinner at half past nine, and after dinner I shower and go to bed. On weekends I usually get up around nine o’clock to shower, have breakfast and get ready to study, at ten I start studying. Every Saturday I go out with my friends to spend the afternoon and have a picnic, although some days we stay for lunch.

I sincerely believe that I am a good student. My favorite subjects are biology, physics and mathematics, although lately they have been very difficult. One thing that I would love to work on when I am older would be to be a Surgeon, since my dream is to be able to save people. Although there are many more jobs that I would like to apply for. I love reading books about adventure and fantasy, and besides that, every day before going to sleep and for a while after eating I watch a little of the series that I am watching at the time.

I think that in the USA it will be good for me to talk about academic issues. I know that at the beginning it will cost me a bit since my school is not bilingual, but I know that I am going to put the batteries and work on it. I am looking forward to leaving so that I can start school, as I have been told that it is very different from how it is here. I hope a school that opens its doors for me and makes friends among the students. I hope that my family is a loving family to which I can contribute a bit of our culture. I know that if I go on an exchange, many doors will open to me when it comes to requesting a place in universities and jobs, and in addition to that, it will make it easier for me to talk to more people from around the world.

To finish, I want to tell you that I am very excited to go and watch football games with you. This would be a great fun adventure. You will not regret choosing me as a member of the family, and I would be happy to cook you some typical dish from here.

Finally, thank you very much for taking me in. You are so generous and I appreciate you giving me this chance.

Lots of hugs, Angela.

Please feel free to share: