Flag of Germany

Anna

15, Female Student ID: 228CGGE010JYF Germany

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Band and Orchestra
Bike Riding
Dance
Gymnastics
Music
Running or Jogging
LETTER FROM Anna

Anna

Dear host family,

First of all, I want to thank you for taking the time to read my letter. I am going to tell you something about myself and about my family. My name is Anna and I’m from Germany. I am 14 years old and I love traveling, which is the main reason why I decided to do an exchange year. I am really interested in different cultures and languages. In my free time I really enjoy meeting friends and going out. Besides school, I like to go to dance courses with one of my best friends. We usually do contemporary dance. Even though I don’t take piano or guitar lessons, I really enjoy playing little songs on them, which my sister has taught me. I love music in general, especially listening to it. I never go out without my earphones, because I like to listen to music while jogging/running or riding my bike.

At home, I live with my mom and one of my older sisters. My oldest sister has already moved out. I have a great relationship with both of them, I can tell them everything and we often do things together. I have a really good relationship with my mom and my dad, even though they are divorced since I was little. I really like spending time with them, we often play games or watch a movie together, but mostly I enjoy traveling with them. I’m grateful for my family and I like that we are very open with each other. They were really supportive, when I decided to do an exchange year, especially because one of my sisters did an exchange year in the USA too and she loved it. My parents are from Vietnam and it’s usual for us to have a big meal on holidays with lots of family members and friends of the family. On these days it is very joyful and loud.

I also have a great relationship with my friends. We hang out often and I can tell them everything. Some of them go to the same school, as I do, but the others know me since elementary school. We always support one another in any kind of way. I am really happy to have such great people as my friends.

My normal school day starts at 8am and ends around 1pm/3pm. When I come home, I often do chores, like laundry or washing the dishes. After that, I do my homework or I learn for the next exam.

When I grow older, I want to have a good and exciting job, but I am still figuring out, which job would fit me most. In general, I have interest in lots of different things.

I decided to do an exchange year in the USA because I like your diversity, culture and the people there. I think that you interact with each other a lot more open than we do in Germany. Also, I always have loved speaking English. I am looking forward to the variety of school activities because in Germany we don’t have that many school activities.

I hope that I will gain a lot of new experiences during the exchange year and that I become more self-dependent and self-confident as well.

Thank you for being willing to host an exchange student at your home. I can’t wait to meet you!

Kind regards,

Anna

Please feel free to share: