Flag of Germany

Annalena

18, Female Student ID: 198IKGE008JYF Germany

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Badminton
Board Games
Dance
Reading
LETTER FROM Annalena

Annalena

I don’t know anything about you yet, so I’m just going to tell you something about myself, hoping I can give you a good impression of myself.

My name is Annalena, I am 18 years old and I am the first child of my parents. I come from the west of Germany and live in a small village near the small town where I was born. Our village has only 380 inhabitants and does not even have a bus or train connection. Due to the rural location of our house, I grew up close to nature, but because of our 4 farms you can sometimes smell it too. Therefore, I would be very glad to get to know the big city life.

Together with my parents, my two brothers, Lars (14) and Tobias (14) the twins, and our three rabbits, I live in a small house with a garden. As a family we do a lot together. During good weather, excursions to parks, cities or events are often planned. Biking and hiking are also often on the to-do list. During bad weather we like to play family games like “Catan” or “Activity”.

At the moment I’m attending a grammar school, from which I’m going to graduate in June 2019 with my high school diploma. My favorite subjects are English and Biology, where I have successfully participated in several competitions. In general I am a very ambitious person and good academic achievements are very important to me. I’m really looking forward to attending an American high school and witnessing the famous high school spirit, because there is no such thing here in Germany. My school is very small, so we have no school teams or other extracurricular activities. In my year abroad, I wish I could attend a large high school, which includes a wide range of extracurricular activities as well as various more unusual courses.

In my free time, I’ve been dancing in a carnival club since I was five. Every year we study a new choreography, which we perform during the carnival season at various performances and present them in dance competitions.
Our dance group consists of 8 – 12 dancers and our two coaches, with whom we train once a week. Above all, the feeling of community and the cohesion of the group ensures that I enjoy it a lot. I would wish that I could attend a dance club in high school too or try something new.

Otherwise, I also like to read novels in my free time. When I find a book series that I like a lot, I devour one book after another until I read the whole volume.

Friends are very important to me, whenever we have time we meet and go for example to the cinema or go shopping and in the summer we often drive to a natural lake for swimming.

I am looking forward to making some good friendships in America, which will continue after the year abroad. As to my former exchange student from England with whom I still have contact today, which I am very happy about. We got to know each other through an exchange program of our schools, unfortunately the stays only lasted twice a year for one week each.

In addition to the already mentioned reasons, I would like to substantially improve my American-English pronunciation through my year abroad and extend my English knowledge beyond the normal school English. Also, I would like to get to know the American culture better, which is why I would love to become part of your family.

Now I have come to the end of my letter. I tried to describe myself as good as possible to show you who I am. And I want to tell you: Thank you for choosing me as your host student. This means a lot to me, you are giving me the chance to realize one of my biggest drams. Thank you very much!

Please feel free to share: