Flag of Spain

Beltran

, Male Student ID: 228INSP097JYM Spain

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Bike Riding
Fitness
Sailing
Video Games
LETTER FROM Beltran

Beltran

Dear family,

My name is Beltran and I am 15 years old. I live in a medium-sized city in the south of Spain, on the coast of the Mediterranean Sea. However, I was born in China. When I was two years old I was adopted by my family.

I live together with my parents and my other three siblings. My older brother is finishing engineering at university, and my two sisters are also both at university studying nursing; I would like to study architecture like my mother. Moreover, we have our pet, a 7-year-old German Shepherd dog.

Our house is big and has a garden and pool, which allows us to enjoy with friends and family during summertime. The weather in my city is warm, even in winter with mild temperatures.

I am looking forward to living my American experience, studying for a year in the US and joining a family as one of the members. For years I have listened to my brothers talk about the year each one spent in the USA. The oldest was with a family in North Carolina, my oldest sister in Minneapolis and my other sister in Las Vegas.

All of them had unique experiences and learned a lot about American life, even though their families were very different and their cities too. They all have American friends and direct contact with their families. Some have even come to visit us at our home in Spain.

On the other hand, I would like to share experiences of my Spanish culture. For example, I love going out to eat or learning to cook some dishes. In Spain we have a wide variety of types of food such as the famous paella, potato omelette, gazpacho…. At home, when my parents are away, I usually cook some basic dishes.

As for my hobbies, I like to play sports and especially rowing. For the last 3 years I have belonged to the maritime club of my city. I also like to listen to music, especially Latin music; And I also like to watch science fiction movies. I am a lover of Marvel movies. (I don’t like horror movies very much, because then I have nightmares).

I also like to share my time playing games with other friends. On weekends, sometimes I meet them to ride a bike around the city near the sea, or we go to mountain areas to do mountain biking. As soon as the good weather arrives, I like to go to the beach with my friends and then invite them to come up to the house to stay in the garden with some pizzas.

At home I try to be responsible. I have assigned tasks such as feeding my dog, picking up and throwing away recycled garbage, helping to set the table for eating and organizing my bedroom and the bathroom that I share with my brother.

I like to share jokes and laughs with my brothers, despite the fact that there are 7 years difference between the eldest and me, we all have very good relationships. And of course, I love it when we all go on a trip together and go to some new country or city. I really like Italy for its culture and food, I have been to this country three times.

Finally, I would like to thank you for reading this letter, and if you are my host family I hope I can personally thank you. I know the great effort you make to welcome an international student and how generous you are going to be to offer me your home and family. I hope that this experience is also very positive for you and I promise to do all my best to make this happen.

My best wishes.

Beltran

Please feel free to share: