Flag of Spain

Bernat

15, Male Student ID: 208SPSP019JYM Spain

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Basketball
Camping
Football (Soccer)
Music
Skiing or Snowboarding
Sports
LETTER FROM Bernat

Bernat

My name is Bernat, I’m 14 years old (I will turn 15 shortly after I arrive), and I’ve decided that I want to go next year to live an amazing experience in the USA with an american family.

Firstly, I want to explain the main reasons why I want to go to the USA. One of the most important for me is to deepen my knowledge of the United States, because I spent there 3 weeks last summer and I took with me some really good vibes. I went to a summer camp (YMCA Camp Fuller in Rhode Island) and the moments lived there with my friends are unforgettable for me. I could learn a little bit how the americans are, their hospitality and their generosity, this is why I want to spend a whole year with an american family. When my father did it, almost 40 years ago, he had a great experience with his family and we have been keeping in touch all this time. Me and my older brother have met my father’s american parents, and we call them grandpas. Apart of receiving american culture I also want to explain a little bit of the catalan culture to my american family, so everyone will learn from everyone. Another of my reasons is to improve my english level because it’s really important in the world.

Secondly I’m going to describe myself a little bit. I have a brother and I would love to have someone around my age at home. I’m a very observant person and I’m interested in what is happening in my country and in the whole world. This is why I’m positive that I will enrich my culture so much going to the United States and, for example, studying american history or following the 2020 elections. I’m a serious guy too, but I love laughing and joking with my friends and family. Sometimes I can get really mad if I think that something is unfair or I don’t like it, and I can be pretty stubborn, but I usually calm down fast.

At school I’m a good student and I’ve never had any problem to take good marks. I play basketball and I would like to keep playing it, but I know that it won’t be easy because I will be a sophomore. I go to ski every winter since I was 4 and I like it very much too. I’ve been playing sax for 5 years, I play in the school orchestra and we perform 2 concerts every year. I have passed too all the music theory grades (5); now I’m doing my first year of harmony.

My 2 biggest hobbies are play basketball and follow all kind of sports; Spanish, European, American or World. I’m a big Barça fan but I follow NBA, Baseball World Series and Super Bowl too.

And that’s all about me! Thank you for open your home to me. See you soon.

Please feel free to share: