Flag of Spain


15, Female Student ID: 238ICSESP097JYF Spain

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Drama or Theater



My name is Berta, I’m from Barcelona and I’m very grateful for you to take time for reading this and discovering a little bit more about me.

I love my family because we are very close, and we complement each other very well. We are 5: two parents and three children. My mother is a gynecologist. She’s very open and friendly and a true leader. My father is an ENT doctor. His inner child is still very awake, that’s my favorite thing about him. He’s a little bit messy and playful. My big brother is very sensitive and cuddling. He loves basketball and reading. My middle brother likes to have his own space. He loves Physics and playing. Together we are like a team, that’s what I love the most about them.

I would describe myself like a positive, disciplined, courageous, and more an observer than a doer. I know how to adapt to new environments; I’m looking forward to learning things from different places and cultures and I’m willing to live this experience to the fullest. But I also have some weaknesses; I’m an overthinking person, that’s why I’m trying to overthink less and take more action. Spending a school year in the USA is a way of doing it. I’m also working on doing what’s best for me and not doing what other people want me to do. One of the biggest challenges I have faced is when I quitted Gymnastics (which I practiced for 9 years) and began a new sport for me: volleyball. All my friends already knew how to play volleyball and were adapted to the routine, and I had to begin from the start. But now I love it!

I love cooking and playing volleyball. I also love reading, organizing things around me, learning from others and spending time with friends and family. I love tomatoes (especially those from my grandparent’s vegetable patch). In Catalonia we have “pa amb tomàquet”, which is tomato spread on bread, with oil and salt. Simple but yummy! I also love pasta and berries. My favorite holiday is Halloween. And one of my favorite family traditions is watching a movie on Friday nights while we eat popcorn.

I would be very happy if a family could host me and give me the opportunity to live new experiences and become a part of an American family.

Thank you again for this opportunity and I really hope we can meet very soon!


Please feel free to share: