Flag of Spain

Blanca

17, Female Student ID: 228ICSP071JYF Spain

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Crafting
Drama or Theater
Music
LETTER FROM Blanca

Blanca

Dear family:

My name’s Blanca, I am sixteen and I am from a beautiful town in Valencia (Spain) and I’d like to explain you my routine and what I like to do.

First, my routine of the week is that I wake up at 7:30 to get ready to go to the High school, that it starts at 8:00 and finish at 14:10 but only on Thursdays and Fridays because on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays I finish at 15:05.

When I finish the classes I have something different to do every day. On Mondays and Wednesdays I go to an English academy, because I love English language and culture. On Tuesdays and Thursdays I do my homework and study but if I have any time I like painting or drawing listening to my favorite music. Finally on Fridays I don’t have any extracurricular, so if I don’t have homework or anything to study, I take the opportunity to meet my friends and go out to the town to have dinner, watch a movie, or sometimes we even have sleepovers.

I really like music and singing, so whenever I can, I go with my group of friends to a concert. I love “One direction”, especially Harry Styles and BTS too but I like too another type of music like Queen, Michael Buble, Aretha Franklin… In fact, I sang in a choir with which I traveled to an international choir meeting in Tallinn (Estonia). It was a fantastic experience.

I am a person who doesn’t mind to be alone. I am very independent. I love spending time with my friends and family but I like to spend some time too listening to my favorite music and painting or drawing when I feel inspired. In this moment I am very interested in fashion design and photography art. I love art in general, and I love being self-taught in this area. I’ve never been to art classes because I don’t like the ones I have at my disposal in my city but I won my state’s poster design contest the year I applied, 2018 and also my High School design contest to decorate the walls last course. I feel proud.

I have a very special relationship with my sister, she is 18 and she is like my best friend and makes me laugh a lot. So it would be great to have at least one sister my own age or a year or two older than me in my new American family to help me integrate better into your culture and teach me your customs and with whom I can maintain a relationship of friendship as special as the one my sister and I have.

I really like to participate in the folklore, traditions and culture of my region. Specifically, I actively participate in the most important festival in my region: Las Fallas (declared intangible heritage of humanity by UNESCO). I help with the organization of choreographies and costume and costume designs for the different shows that take place throughout the year.

Of course, I love to discover and learn about other cultures and traditions from other places, especially those that are so different from mine. So, for me, it would be a pleasure to participate and learn from your traditions and culture. And it would be great to study in one of your High Schools. My sister studied there during the course 2020-2021 in Rathdrum (Idaho) and she says that your education system is marvelous. She has told me wonders of your country and now we are both in love with the United States and its culture. I am looking forward to experiencing it in person and learning as much as possible.

Best regards: Blanca.

Please feel free to share: