Flag of Spain

Carmen

15, Female Student ID: 238ISSESP015JYF Spain

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Dance
Fitness
Golf
Volleyball
LETTER FROM Carmen

Carmen

Dear family,

My name is Carmen and I’m 15. First of all I would like to thank you for welcoming me next year in your house.

I am a shy person but when you get to know me I am quite the opposite and very fun. I am also a very kind and good friend although at first I have difficulty opening myself to people.

I live in a city in the south of Spain. I love the place where I live, it is beautiful and the weather is wonderful. I have a big family formed by my father who works in a family business and loves to play golf. My mother is a housewife and loves doing Pilates and traveling. My older brother is a student and loves to play soccer. And finally, my little sister who is also a student and likes to play basketball and this year is going to try badminton.

Currently, I’m studying 9th grade and my favorite subjects are physical education and English or French because I love languages. My school is very big, very nice and modern and has many students. For now, I am very clear that I would like to study medicine because I would love to help people who are sick and cure them and obviously, I would love to study college in the United States.

One of the things I love the most is to spend time with my friends. We usually walk through the city center, and we also see clothing stores while we talk about our things, we also like going to the movies. I usually don’t go out every weekend, because some of them I have to stay at home doing homework and others I go out with my family or go to see my cousins.

During the week I go to school from 8:00am to 2:30pm, after school on Mondays and Wednesdays I go to the English academy to improve my English, Tuesdays I take piano lessons and then I go to volleyball training and study and on Tuesdays I go to volleyball and also study and finally on Fridays depending on the occasion I do different things.

Going to America is something that has always been a dream for me since I was very young. I obviously want to go to the USA because I will learn a lot of English and I love it. I will make new friends, I will live American life and learn American traditions and culture. I am sure I will have a great time. I will also be happy to show you my culture.

In summer 2022 I went to Dublin (Ireland) for 2 weeks, I went to a school in the mornings and took English lessons and in the afternoon, I used to go to visit the city and did many activities. I practice a lot of English with the host family and with exchange students from other countries. I loved living that little experience and I was very sad to go back home and say goodbye to all the good friends I made.

Sometimes I help at home. Something that I always do and help with is with my room because it is my place and I tidy it. I also love cooking, if I see that I have nothing to do and my mom is cooking I love helping her with it. My mother is the one who usually cooks at home and cooks super well. I can make my own food perfectly.

Throughout my life I have visited many places but especially I have traveled a lot around Spain. I have also visited different cities. I usually travel in summertime because I spend Christmas Eve with my sometimes just the 5 of us or other years with my cousins and uncles, but we always celebrate New Year with more family members and January 6 (the 3 kings) or December 25 (Santa Claus) I go to my grandmother’s house to eat and spend the day there.

Again, I want to thank you for hosting me at your house. I am sure it will be a great experience. I am looking forward to learning about your culture and to show you some of my traditions.

See you soon,

Carmen

Please feel free to share: