Flag of Spain

Claudia

16, Female Student ID: 218ICSP415JYF Spain

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Computers or Technology
Handball
Reading
Skiing or Snowboarding
LETTER FROM Claudia

Claudia

My name is Claudia and I’m 16 years old. I live in a small city in Spain, with my parents and my two brothers who are younger than me. I have 2 cousins that live in the same city and close to our home, so in the afternoon, they usually come and play together. When their parents go to dinner or so, we take care of them. I also have more cousins of different ages that don’t live here but we have contact monthly at least. My family is very close, and I love them so much!

Now to introduce myself… I would describe myself as a reliable, friendly, open-minded and sensible girl. Also, my friends say that I’m very kind because I always try to help other people. I also have a strong character. I’m decided, ambitious and hard-working. I like doing things well and in the right way, that makes me proud of myself.

In my free time, I love doing sport. I play handball with my friends. We train together 3 times a week and on the weekends we have a match. I’m not sure if you play handball in the US, but in handball, we have six different games positions (the center, the side, the pivot, the extreme and the goalkeeper). I’m the center, the person who distributes the ball game and mark the plays, so I’m like the quarterback of the football.

During the winter I go skiing at the weekend. I have skied since I was 7 years old. I have taken some lessons with different teachers, but most of what I know was taught to me by my parents.

My favorite hobby is reading. I can spend hours and hours reading and when I really enjoy a book I can finish it in 24 hours! I started reading when I was very young, like five years old. I love fantasy and science-fiction books because when I read I’m in another world. Some of my favorite books are Harry Potter collection by J.K Rowling, The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave or The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Also, I love the books of a Spanish writer called Laura Gallego. Her books are amazing! My favorite is Alas Negras (Black Wings), its about an angel who banished from heaven.

Another thing I do in my free time is drawing. I have a lot of notebooks and papers full of drawings and paintings. I like painting people and animals, but landscapes are not my strength. I love painting with watercolors, acrylic paints, pencils, markers… all types of painting I know.

As a normal teenager, I like to meet my friends. Usually, we have lunch at a restaurant and we spend the evening in the center of the town. Also, we meet to play video games and see movies or simply to do homework and study.

I also like technology and robots, this hobby came from my father who is a computing engineer. I already know how to program in three different programming languages: logo, Karel and python. I still don’t know what to do in the future, but I’m sure that will be something related with technology and maths. My dream is to invent something that makes life better for humanity. Another wish is to travel around the world and get to know about different cultures and lifestyles.

I think that the exchange experience will be a great opportunity to know a different culture and also improve my English and meet new people. I’m very excited about going to the USA and I can’t wait to be there. I’m ready to discover a new way of living and live this experience the best way I can!

I’m so happy with the opportunity to know you better and to be a member of your family. I hope you had fun reading my letter and knowing a bit more about me and my dreams. Thank you very much for being a volunteer as a host family!

I look forward to hearing from you!

Please feel free to share: