Flag of Australia

Emile

15, Male Student ID: 201WAAU019USM Australia

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Basketball
Football (Soccer)
Martial Arts
Music
LETTER FROM Emile

Emile

Firstly I’m going to say thank you in advance for taking a random Australian teenager into your home, it’s a big task.

If I were to describe myself in a few words I would say I’m curious, interesting, creative and I learn things quickly. I absolutely love learning about other cultures and way of lives as it shows me the other perspectives in the world. One thing my dad told me that has stuck with me for a long time is “you don’t judge someone’s life by the amount of money or fame they had but the number of stories that they have to tell”. This idea makes me really curious about other peoples stories and values. Some things that I like to do in my personal time are listening and creating music (especially hip-hop), drawing, fashion and watching movies. As a sneak-peek into my likings, some of my favorite musical artists are: Dr. Dre, Big L, Kanye West, Mac Miller and Yung Lean and my favourite films are: Trainspotting, Do the Right Thing and Pulp Fiction. On Fridays and the weekends, I like to go out into the city with my friends and we usually go bike riding, shop for clothes, go out partying and eat great food from Chinatown. My favorite sports are Soccer, Boxing, Basketball and Football and I would love to support you and your local team.

The reason I chose America to go on exchange is that I’m super intrigued with American history both pre and post-colonization and also my grandmother was raised in Detroit before she came to Australia and through her words (although her experience was a long time ago) it sounded like a diverse and unique nation. Some things that I would love to try or experience in America are cookouts, high-energy sports games, soul food, true jazz or blues concerts and the beautiful and broad landscape. I love the historic cities in America and would love to go see museums, galleries and small quirks and unique shops or restaurants. It would be great to become a part of the local community and be able to live memories I can share for life.

At home, I live with my mum, dad and 20-year-old brother (who seems to always be out with his friends). We live in a small, humble house in a friendly area that has its occasional mishaps but has been a great environment for me to grow up in. My daily routine usually includes waking up at 7:30 am, having a shower and eating breakfast before walking 30 minutes to school which starts at 8:50. School finishes at 3:10 with two half-hour breaks. Usually, I kick back with my mates after school for about 40 minutes before I head home. If I have no extracurricular activities on, I come home and listen to music whilst drawing or go on my phone. I also like to play my guitar or piano and sing whilst I am home alone as it is good mental freedom. I will be honest, I procrastinate my homework which means I complete it much later in the afternoon. Most afternoons I try a quick workout routine as I need to burn off my energy. I usually eat dinner at 8:00 – 8:30 before going to bed at 10:15 – ish. On Fridays or weekends if I am at home that night my curfew is usually 10 – 11 if I am making my own way home. I am a hardworking kid and I can help in cleaning, cooking or looking after pets if you need.

In conclusion, I am a creative, intelligent and hardworking kid who can take a joke and would love to explore the cities and wilderness with you. I am independent and can take care of myself but I also have a good time talking and sharing ideas and cultures with others and I would love to experience an American way of life, in a whichever diverse way that means to you.

Please feel free to share: