Flag of Germany


15, Student ID: 238KWDDEU037JYM Germany

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Running or Jogging
Skiing or Snowboarding


Dear host family,

I am Frederik, but you can call me Freddi. Thank you for taking the time to read my letter. I am interested to spend a year abroad because I would like to get to know more about your country, your culture and your family. In addition to that I would like to improve my English skills because I am dreaming of studying in the USA at college one day. Furthermore, I really like to increase my knowledge and get to know new things.

My family and I, we are living in a house in the outskirts of a big city in Eastern Germany. It is not far away from the city where you can go by bike in 15 minutes. We all enjoy spending our free time in our garden and the near forest. My mother is 48 years old and works as an English teacher in a High School while my 53 years old, Dad works as a policeman. My sister is two years younger than me and is a student. I like to spend with my family at the weekends or on holiday. We often travel to foreign countries. At the weekends my parents support our sports activities and sometimes we enjoy having dinner in different restaurants.

I have one little sister and she is 12 years old. Our relationship is very good and I like to play board games with her and do sports with her. We have a very friendly atmosphere in our family and apart from typical little disputes there are no arguments.

In my free time I do a lot of sports for instance athletics, surfing and basketball. Moreover I like to play volleyball and badminton, go bouldering and do parkour. In winter I like to practice skiing in the Austrian Alps. I am interested to do every other sport that sounds interesting. I love to read a lot of books but also meet friends.

At home my sister and I are helping our parents with the housework. We divide vacuuming, sweeping, mopping floors and dusting between us. We also take out the garbage, set and clear the table, wash and put away the dishes.

A challenge in my life was to handle my migraine attacks which suddenly occurred 5 years ago. In the beginning I did not know what was going on, but meanwhile I got the right medicine and I am familiar with the usage of it. Once I notice that a migraine attack might start I take my spray, relax and I am sure that I recover within a few hours.

All in all I conclude that I am a friendly, tolerant and open-minded character and that’s why I presume I am suitable for this program.

In the future I really want to become an astrophysicist because I like stars and space. I am interested in black holes and the life on other planets. I hope to study in the USA one day.

I am really thankful for your attention and your effort.

I am looking forward to hearing from you and meeting you

Yours sincerely


Please feel free to share: