Flag of Sweden

Hjalmar

17, Male Student ID: 208ESSW001JYM Sweden

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Football (Soccer)
Music
Politics
Running or Jogging
LETTER FROM Hjalmar

Hjalmar

Hello potential future host family!

My name is Hjalmar, a 17-year-old student writing to you from Sweden. To introduce myself, I currently attend my 2nd year on the the economy program at a high school. Outside of school, I spend a lot of time with my friends, enjoying a variation of activities such as long walks or visiting the cinema or a museum. For psychical exercise, I usually go for an occasional run around the neighborhood 3-4 times a week. I used to play soccer from when I was 6 until the age of 15. Though I currently do not take part in any team, I still very much enjoy playing soccer for fun and to support my favorite team.

I would describe myself to be a social, humorous and responsible individual, I would embrace a family of the American culture while contributing with my Swedish culture. You see, with my exchange year, not only do I intend on opening up to new experiences, but also to share experiences of my own experiences with all the new people I meet. I love my friends and family, and I spend a lot of time in their company. My family consists of my two parents, my older brother and our 5 year-old dog. I consider myself to be great with dogs, though I’ve been told that I’m good with pets in general. I’m aware that I’ll be part of a new family-constellation, which of course makes me a bit nervous. Apart from that though, I’m very excited to be part of a second family!

The main reason for my interest in participating in an exchange year comes from wanting to experience something completely different from my ordinary life. Furthermore, there are several reasons for me wanting to go to an English speaking country, and the US specifically. First of all, English has been my favorite class in school for many years now. In the future, I aspire to be completely fluent in English and to be able to speak without any hesitation. Also, I’ve been to the US twice before. The fist time I went was in late October of 2016 when my family spent a week in New York. The second occasion was last year when I visited Chicago and then went to San Fransisco by train, which was truly a memorable experience.

One thing my two visits have in common is that I didn’t want to leave on either of the two occasions. I always felt like there was more to explore, something a 10-month exchange program would allow me to proceed with, hopefully.

Please feel free to share: