Flag of Germany

Jana

16, Female Student ID: 208SIGE178JYF Germany

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Cooking
Horseback Riding
Reading
Running or Jogging
Swimming
LETTER FROM Jana

Jana

My name is Jana, I’m currently 16 years old, and I’m from Germany.

I’m living with both my parents in a small house in a village. My sister sadly already moved out but we are still in constant contact and have a really close relationship. I don’t have any pets, but I’d love to have a dog. My parents and I also have a very close relationship. They are very loving and supportive with everything I do. We can trust each other and I can talk to them about everything. We like spending time together and play board games or go out for a walk or something.

Currently I’m going into the 11th grade in school. I’d say my performance in school is average or slightly above average. My favourite subjects are philosophy and english. What I don’t like about german school is that there isn’t very much space for individuality. For example we don’t get to chose our classes. I hope that as soon as I’m going to an american high school I’m gonna get a little more interactive and creative classes than in Germany. For example I’d love to take courses like art, drama, photography, pottery or psychology because I’m not getting that opportunity in Germany.

My hobbies are riding horses and jogging, but I’m still not a very sporty person. I like these two things mainly because I love being in the nature and with animals. Also I love being at the stable with my best friends and just spend time with them there.

Jogging is pretty cool because it is something my dad and I like to do together in the forest. When we are done jogging my dad and I go picking up trash that has been thrown in the forest. That is something that is really important to me because I want the nature and the animals to stay alive and beautiful like it is. I’m also trying to live as climate friendly as I can, which is hard sometimes.

I also have a very great love for food and sometimes I like to cook or bake myself or with my friends or family. Another hobby of mine is swimming, which I love to do in summer with my friends at a lake near the stable where I’m riding. Swimming is so relaxing, which is why I love it. Spending time with my friends in general and having sleepovers is also a thing I love to do. What I like to do when I’m having some alone time is reading, writing and watching movies or something like that.

Also I currently started to learn how to play the ukulele and I really started to like playing it. In general I’m totally hyped to learn, see and try as much new things as I can while I’m in the USA. I want to find out what I’m good at and maybe I can use some of these skills later in life.

I would say about myself that I’m caring, tolerant and flexible. I’m also a very good listener and trust worthy. Bad traits of mine are that I overthink everything and I can be a little emotional.

I wish to have a caring, tolerant family, a lot of fun while I’m staying and an unforgettable year with you!

I’m very looking forward to meet you and I hope you are too.

Please feel free to share: