Flag of Spain


15, Male Student ID: 238TLTESP028JYM Spain

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Football (Soccer)
Running or Jogging
Skiing or Snowboarding


Dear host family,

My name is Jorge, I’m 15 years old and I live in Barcelona, Spain. My mother is 47 years old, she works in a communication department in a Mutuality, and my father, (49 years old) runs a jewelry shop. My brothers are 20 years old and 17. Both are very good soccer players. We spend a lot of time together and we have a good relationship, we like the same things and laugh a lot together.

My eldest brother goes to University, which is near my school. My other brother and I go to the same high school. My school is very big, it’s a catholic School and you can study since the 2 years old until the 18. My mum drives us to School every morning, but I return by myself in public transport. I’m self-sufficient and very responsible. My favorite subjects are math’s and sport.

I enjoy to expend my free time playing soccer. I play in the school team, two days per week and one match on the weekend. My teammates have chosen me for the second consecutive year as team captain, which makes me very happy. I like spend my time at home with my family, listening music or playing at the PS4. On weekends I also play paddle with my family in a club and later we take the appetizer with my maternal grandparents. They live next to us and I see them almost every day. I can not see my paternal grandfather as much but I love him too.

Every year we make two family trips, one in winter to ski, and one in summer to a foreign country. My only experience at the EEUU was 5 years ago, that we went to Miami and Orlando’s Disney Parks and I love it so much. We like very much travel de 5 of us, visit places and try typical food.

I am very grateful for the opportunity that this program gives me, being able to go to the United States is a dream for me. I think it’s a good opportunity going to U.S.A to learn about your culture and language, and live in another country with another family. My brothers did this same program three/six years ago, and they have told me that the education system is very different and exciting over there. I think that in your country the classmates are all the time involved into the classes and the classes are funnier than here. The only thing that scares me a little bit is to start from zero and make new friends and communicate with other people. I’m shy at first but I’m sure I’ll do good friends.

I hardly want to go to the EEUU to live with an American family, make new friends, improve my English and to know a new culture.

People say about me that I’m always happy, I’m sure I’m going to find a very good family, because people who opens the door of their home to a foreigner must be exceptional. That is why I want to thank the host families for their generosity in hosting a student for a year and integrating them into their family.

I hope I will have the opportunity to thank you in person!


Please feel free to share: