Flag of Germany

Leo Sophie

15, Female Student ID: 238SIGDEU031JYF Germany

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Band and Orchestra
Bike Riding

Leo Sophie

Dear future host family,

First of all I would like to say a huge thank you for giving students like me the opportunity to live with you for a whole year. And especially for taking your time and reading my letter.

Unfortunately I don’t know anything about you yet, but I would like to tell you something about myself and my family. My name is Leo and I’m 15 years old living with my family (sister, mother, father) in the southwest of Germany. I’m an open-minded and trustful person. I appreciate people in the way they are as well as I’m always open to talk to new people. It makes me happy when I am able to make others happy and content. This is something my friends really appreciate about me. Another strength of mine is that I’m always open for trying out new things. Since I’m an interested person I’m open for all kinds of adventures and when I want to accomplish something. I take action and get it done. My younger sister is 12 years old, going into 7th grade. We laugh a lot together. My mother is working as a pre-school educator and what I really love about her is that she is backing me all the way, because she knows how hard life can be sometimes for me, because school is a lot of work currently. And my father is working as a bank clerk. I love spending time with my dad because I can’t see him that often because he works in a different city in Germany. We love to take little cycling tours and spending time at the weekend together. As a family we come along really well and I enjoy spending time with my family whatever we’re doing, because it is hard to find time when everybody has time to do something together. I really enjoy late night games on weekends, cycling trips to our grandparents or to the lake and a lot of other activities. Beside my family, my friends are very important to me: We have a lot of fun together hanging around, talking and playing together. They also gave me feedback on my character that you can read in their letter. I hope to get new friends in America and having a lot of fun with them.

One of my favorite hobbies is cycling, therefore I took up a virtual challenge (Route 66) trying to accomplish 2.280 miles within a given period. I wanted to finish it in 70 weeks, no matter the time of the year or bad weather. I’m very proud of myself that I completed this challenge in exactly 365 days. Another hobby of mine is baking and sometimes cooking. I have baked several cakes already from a small cake for my sister’s birthday leading up to a christening cake for a good friend. I would love to bake and cook with you and maybe we can cook traditional German food together. My favorite dishes are pasta, homemade pizza, self-made burgers and yeast dumplings (a traditional food in our family whenever we visit my grandparents for a couple of days).

On holiday we like to travel around Germany and Austria, but my favorite holidays so far have been Mauritius (6 years old) and the kayaking trip with my dad at the Mecklenburg Lake Plateau this year. I’m currently not in a sports club, but I do really enjoy doing sport activities, especially all kinds of watersport for example swimming, kayaking and wakeboarding.

A family tradition of us is to get twice or thrice a year together with our really big family. We have a good connection to all of them and love spending time on big birthdays or weddings. It’s always a pleasure to see them because family is really important to me. And I would love to get to know some of your family traditions and be a part of it.

I hope I could give you a good first impression about myself and I would be really happy if we see each other in summer of 2023, I can get to know you and live the American way of live with you and being a happy exchange student.

Have a great time and greetings from Germany!

Yours, Leo

Please feel free to share: