Flag of Spain

María

16, Female Student ID: 218LTSP417JYF Spain

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Choir or Singing
Field Hockey
Music
Reading
LETTER FROM María

María

My name is María and I will probably be 16 when you read this. I am a very calm person, but I love being with my friends and my family, and having fun with them. At first I could give the impression that I am a little bit shy, but when I get confidence, I am very friendly.

I live in a town in the city. I go to school here, and I am currently in what is your sophomore year of high school.

I’ve always liked the USA, and wanted to live the high school experience similar to the TV series and movies, so I insisted my parents to let me go a whole year for about two or three years, and I finally can. I also want to improve my english and learn as much as I can about your country.

What I’m most afraid of is being a whole year away from my parents, and making new friends in a country so different to Spain. On the other hand, that’s also one of the reasons why I’m so excited to go, to earn autonomy and learn new things.

I think one of the hardest things will be studying in english, most of all History, because they’re things I’ve never seen. But still, I think understanding the teachers will be quite easier, because I already watch series in English, and I don’t have any problem to understand them.

I went to the United States for the first time the summer before last. I stayed with a family in Maryland for a month, and I visited New York, New Jersey, Baltimore and Philadelphia. That was the first time I travelled without my family and before that I had only travelled to places in Europe.

I have an older sister called Lucía, who is 18, and two younger brothers, Jaime and Gonzalo, who are twins and age 13. I live with my mother, my sister and my brothers, but every two weekends we stay with my father. Every sunday we visit our grandparents’ house, and sometimes my cousins are also there.

My sister, my brothers and I go to the same school, but it’s my sister’s last year. It’s a big school, with more than 2000 students, and it’s not religious. In my school, there are people from 2 years old to 17 or 18. It is very close to my house, so I walk there every morning.

I’ve played field hockey since I was 7, and I still play in the team for my town, although there isn’t a girls team for my age, so I play in the adults team. I train twice a week, and on weekends I play a match. I also love playing the guitar and singing. I started playing it when I got one for my 8th birthday, and now I am taking singing classes. I love reading, and when I start a book, I can’t do anything else in my free time until I’ve finished because I need to know the end of the story! I like staying at home watching Netflix, but I also enjoy going out with my friends.

On weekends, I usually don’t do a lot. On saturdays I do my homework for the weekend, and in the afternoon I go out with my friends. On sundays we go to the church in the morning and then we go eat with our grandparents.

We spend half of our holidays with my father and the other half with my mother. With both of the we go visit some city in Spain or another country and then we go to a house our grandparents have at the beach.

I’m so excited to start this experience, I can’t wait! Thank you in advance for letting me stay with you for a whole year and showing me your country!

Please feel free to share: