Flag of Germany


15, Male Student ID: 238KWDDEU050JYM Germany

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Bike Riding
Football (Soccer)


Dear host-family,

First I want to thank you for taking the time to read my letter of application.

My name is Noah, I’m 15 years old and I am actually attending Grade 10 at a “Gymnasium” in Germany. I live in a small village in the south-west of Germany, a beautiful wine area.

My life takes part in a patch-work family. Most of the time I live with my mother, her new partner, my sister, my half-brother and our crazy little dog. My sister is ten years old, and my half brother is two. Every second week, my sister and I live at my dad’s home. He and his new wife are expecting a baby in December. Even though my parents are divorced we all have a great relationship and often do things together. I really love this situation of having two separate families but also one big family. My grandparents also live in our village, and I enjoy spending time with them, as well.

I’m a very openminded person and I don’t fear to speak with people I don’t know. Doing sport is an important thing in my life. I can adjust to situations and / or people pretty good and I like to get into contact with other people. All in all, I am a very positive person who likes to explore new things.

One challenge in my life was the change from primary school to high school. I was still young and I then had to take the bus, change it, to get to my new school. Also, the time I spend at school, changed. In Primary School I came home at 1p.m. and suddenly, school last until 4p.m. It took a while until I got used to it, and I had to learn to be independent and self-confident to cope all these new situations.

But these are good examples why I think a year abroad would be a perfect opportunity for me. Since I am a self-confident person, I am not afraid of facing new challenges. I think that this year, away from my parents is a chance for me to grow, get more independent and approve my English knowledges. I like facing new adventures and I’m open for everything new in my life.

I already mentioned that I’m a sporty person. I’ve played soccer as a goalkeeper in a local soccer club for about 5 years, but I can also play in the field. In my spare time I like to ride my bike, to play basketball or just hang around with my friends. I love eating pancakes, Asian and Hispanic food. In our summer holidays we always go camping with the family. I like being out in nature and I like swimming as well. Once in a year my whole family of my mother’s side gets together to spend a weekend together. I really enjoy it, because our family comes from all over Germany and Switzerland, and it’s always fun to meet all of them, especially my great-grandmother who will turn 99 in March.

I hope you were able to get some information about me and my family and I would love to hear from you. I’m looking forward to being in the United States next summer!

Yours sincerely,


Please feel free to share: