Flag of Germany


16, Male Student ID: 238SIGDEU043JYM Germany

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Bike Riding
Skiing or Snowboarding
Table Tennis


Dear Host Family,

First of all, I would like to thank you for reading my letter and taking the time to get to know me better. I am really looking forward to my exchange year and hope to give you a little impression of me with my letter.

My name is Ole and I will be 16 years old at the beginning of 2023. If you would ask my friends, they would probably describe me as very neat and punctual, but also as an open and funny person.

I was born in Berlin and live with my parents and my sister in another city. My sister is 11 years old and attends the 6th grade of elementary school. My parents work a lot, but still, they are always there for me and help me where they can. The last months were very hard for my mom, but also for us. She was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2021. Now, almost one and a half years later, she has overcome everything and is completely healthy again. This time has welded us together very much. I help where I can, for example: I am folding my laundry, vacuum and clean my room, but I also help with other things. Mom and dad raised me to be a loving, honest and responsible person with my own opinion.

I attend the 10th grade of a school close to me. I get up every day at 06:40 and ride to school by bike. My school day starts at 07:45 and usually ends at 14:45. My favourite subjects at school are sports, English and politics, but also science. I like sports and politics because I like to learn about the world and I also do sports in my free time. I have two favourite sports, table tennis and swimming. I have been going to swimming practice once a week for 8 years and since June this year I´m a member of the table tennis club. Besides English I do not learn any other foreign language at school. During my school time I did 2x internships, once at a master optician and one at a kindergarten.

In summer I like to go swimming at a lake nearby. Besides my family, my friends are the most important people in my life. They listen to me and try to help me when I have problems and we laugh a lot. I can rely on them and we always have a lot of fun together. We often meet at weekends.

A high school year for me means meeting new people, getting to know the “American Spirit”, improving my English and gaining new experiences.

I am looking forward to meet you. Thank you so much for letting me be a part of your family.

Warm greetings, Ole

Please feel free to share: