Flag of Spain

Sara

15, Female Student ID: 228ICSP073JYF Spain

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Family Activities
Fitness
Horseback Riding
Music
Reading
Running or Jogging
Sports
Tennis
Travel
LETTER FROM Sara

Sara

Dear host family,

I am Sara, and I would like you to know a little about my personal life: where I am from, (my family), my favorite hobbies, my routine…

I’ll start at the beginning

As you may already know, my name is Sara and I am 14 years old, but I will be 15 when I arrive the US.

I am from a city in Spain, which is located in the eastern part of the Iberian Peninsula. The area in which I live is very pleasant. I live in a little house, overlooking the sea with a garden where my dog Lennon lives. In that little house I live with my mother, my father, and my little sister.

I study at a sports high school specialized in athletics. I started in sixth grade, so this is going to be my 4th year at this school. We study and play a lot of sports. We have a very special routine at this school that I’m going to explain:

Every day of the week we do 1 hour of physical preparation and for that reason we always finish 1 hour later than the other schools.

My school is located 6km from my house and I go by bus like almost all my classmates. The students in my school are not from the same town or neighborhood, but each one lives in a different town and that is great because I have friends in different neighborhoods.

Well, focusing on myself, I train four days a week from Monday to Thursday; the buses drop us off in front of the tracks where we train. I train 2 hours a day and I also participate in competitions to which I have to be selected in order to compete.

I have participated in 5 nationals (2 individual championships, 2 for teams and 1 cross) although in December 2021 they may take me to another.

In that same school I met my friends whom I appreciate very much and if I go to the United States, I am sure that I will miss them, especially my group of closest friends. We have been friends for approximately 4 years, and I am very grateful to have met them.

I usually spend the weekends with my family, although sometimes I go out with my friends on Saturdays if I don’t have any competition, because normally I have to compete almost every week.

On Sundays usually when the weather is good, we do things in the garden and we eat at a table that we have specially for those days.

On Sunday afternoons I also dedicate myself to studying and preparing for the week.

Next, I’d like to talk about my hobbies. The truth is that I do not have many, because I do not have much time either, although there are many things that I like such as: reading, watching movies, horseback riding (I like that a lot because I love animals), listening to music, taking photos (I have a camera that my parents gave me to take photos of landscapes or if we go on a trip and I’m very good at it). Traveling is also one of the things that fascinates me the most. I have visited many places in the world such as: London, Paris, Rome, Morocco, Argelia, Lisbon, Canary Islands (Lanzarote, Tenerife, Gran Canaria and Fuerteventura). I have also visited other cities here in Spain like Madrid, Barcelona, and Seville.

Finally, I will tell you a little about my family. My parents are not really from the Peninsula, but they were both born in Western Sahara when it used to be a Spanish territory, so technically they are Spanish. My mother is a pediatrician and my father is a computer scientist. My sister is two years younger than me and although sometimes we argue, she has always been by my side through thick and thin. Growing up we have always been together and now we continue to be, and even though it is hard for me to admit it I am very grateful to have her as a sister.

I know that, when I go to the United States, I’m going to miss them all.

Before I finish, I want you to know that I am very grateful to be able to have this unique opportunity and I hope to meet you soon.

Greetings,

Sara

Please feel free to share: