Flag of Finland

Sara Alissa (Alissa)

16, Female Student ID: 208EFFI003JYF Finland

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Fitness
Golf
Tennis
LETTER FROM Sara Alissa (Alissa)

Sara Alissa (Alissa)

My name is Alissa and I’m a sixteen-year-old joyful girl from Finland. My family consists of five: my mom, dad and two older brothers. My brothers Lukas and Tomas are 20 and 18 years old and we also have a 5 year-old Shetland sheepdog called Vekku.

Our whole family loves sports and being active. Everyone of us plays tennis and golf but at their own level of course. I’ve played tennis ever since I was little and would really like to continue playing in U.S. too. I attended tennis competitions here in Finland for a few years when I was a bit younger but haven’t competed in a while. Golf on the other hand I’ve played during the summer months only because you can’t really go golfing when it’s too cold, rainy or snowy. I like tennis and golf so it would be nice if I could play either or both during my exchange year.

For many years aesthetic group gymnastics was one of my most important hobbies and because of that I had to reduce the amount of tennis practices I had. I was certainly motivated and my teammates became my best friends considering we spent so much time together during practices. However this year I had to quit gymnastics because of a repetitive strain injury in my back. Now that I don’t do gymnastics anymore and my back has healed I’ve taken up other sports such as jogging, fitness classes and some more tennis.

Because of my background in gymnastics I would love to try out for the school’s cheerleading team if possible even though I’ve never tried cheerleading before. It would be super cool and fun if I’d make it to the team but it wouldn’t be the end of the world if I didn’t.

I decided that I wanted to become an exchange student already many years ago when I was in middle school. Our family has traveled to quite many places outside of Finland and our trips to the United States have been the best and probably most memorable ones so far.

I have always been a straight A student here in Finland and I think it’s because I’m responsible and I always try to do my best. I’ve studied English from first grade and taken up other languages along the way. I really look forward to being a student at an American high school since it’s going to be different from school in Finland. For example our schools don’t offer any after school activities here and because of that I obviously have different friends at school than in my hobbies.

Our family eats healthily but we don’t eat seafood that often due to the fact that my dad’s allergic to it. The foods that I don’t really like and rarely eat are cheese and seafood but I obviously eat cheese in burgers, pizza etc.

I’m really looking forward to meeting you. Thank you for hosting me!

Please feel free to share: