Flag of Germany

Saskia

15, Female Student ID: 228DFGE004JYF Germany

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Badminton
Cooking
Crafting
Family Activities
Ice Hockey
Music
Science
Sports
Travel
LETTER FROM Saskia

Saskia

Dear future host family,

first of all I want to thank you for giving me the opportunity to be a part of your family for a whole year and to live at your home as well. I’m really thankful for that.

I hope you are doing well and since I don’t know you yet, I’ll let you know some things about myself and my life.

My name is Saskia, I’m 15 years old and I will be 16 after I arrive to the US. I’m living with my mum and my dad, sadly without any pets or siblings. We live in a small city in NRW, Germany. In my free time I really like to do figure skating but since I’m only able to do that in winter I like to go running in summer.

The schools here in Germany usually don’t have any clubs, or only a few, which is why I’d love to join a club at my future high school.

Beside my sport-themed hobbies i also like drawing a lot, even tho I’m not very good at it and i love to cook and bake. I’d love to learn some new recipes that aren’t common here in Germany. If there’s the opportunity I’d also like to cook or bake something for you.

My favorite subjects to do at school are definitely English, Biology and Geography. Of course, if school is fun usually depends on the teachers, but in general I do enjoy going to school a lot. One oft he main reasons is that I’m able to see a lot of friends and other people I get along well in school.

In general, I would say that I quickly make friends in new places and actually get along well with everyone and every personality type. Even though I get along well with a lot of people at school, I prefer to stay with a few friends which I’m very close with and that i can trust. We are always there for each other which is one oft he most important things in a good friendship in my opinion. We often go out together, cook and eat together or explore new places and cities. Of course, just like in the family, there sometimes are small arguments, but I usually try to avoid getting in an argument.

To get back to my family; my father is a chemical worker and my mother is a vet assistant. Because of my mother’s job, I basically grew up with any kind of animal and sometimes we even get foster animals to take home for a short time. Unfortunately, we don’t have enough time for a own pet, since I go to school and my parents often work a lot. That’s also the treason why we can’t do much together, but we often eat together at least. Form me, that’s a really important thing since that’s basically the only time of the day were we sit together and are able to talk.

But in general, I think living together as a family is the most important thing in being a family. On weekends and holidays, we often go on vacation or short trips together, which I really enjoy doing. Together we have been to Turkey, Egypt, the Netherlands and Italy. I’ve also often been camping with the scouts during the holidays. Every two years we go on a two-week camping trip, which I really enjoy doing.

I myself am a rather shy person when I meet new people, but for some time now I’ve been trying to talk to people by myself more and more and I think that a year abroad is a very good opportunity for becoming even better in this. Especially in the USA, since many people there are open minded with one another. However, when I get to know people a little better, I become a rather hyper and mostly good-moody person.

But I’m also a very emotional person. I don’t show it often though and prefer to keep it to myself, because I don’t want to spread a bad mood. However, if something upsets me so much that I can’t cope with it alone, I’ll seek help from an adult. Also, I’m often a bit messy. But I’m working on it a lot right now and I especially try to keep my room clean. Sometimes I also forget things when I don’t see them as that important. However, if something is important to me or important to others, I would never forget it.

I got the Idea of studying a year abroad when I was only 13. I see so many wonderful opportunities in doing that. Both for living with you and for afterwards when I’m back in Germany. I hope to gain many new and beautiful experiences in a new culture with you as my host family. I also hope to be treated like a part of your family and not just as a guest. I also hope to get a lot of good memories with you.

For my future, I hope to improve my English through the year staying with you, because I’ll definitely need the english language in my future job. The USA was the best choice for me because I’ve always wanted to travel there and I generally wanted to get to know the life there.

I hope I was able to give you a short introduction in my life and about me. I’m already so excited to get to know you as well.

Hopefully see you soon,

yours, Saskia.

Please feel free to share: