Flag of Germany

Zeynap

16, Female Student ID: 198IKGE009JYF Germany

The rewards of hosting are many, your family will learn and grow with the experience as you build a life-long relationship!

Interests
Field Hockey
Fitness
Music
Reading
Visiting Museums
LETTER FROM Zeynap

Zeynap

First of all thank you for taking the time, to read my letter. I hope that you will get a right impression of me. My name is Zeynep (Zeyni). I am a 16 years old girl from Germany. I am from the wonderful city on the river “Main” and home of Goethe.

Family

I would like to start with my lovely family. I got a very tight relationship with my parents and sister and love them very much. My family consists of my mum, my dad and my sister (Ela 4 years). My dad is a manager at an Event Management Company and owns a wine trading company. My mum was working 13 years for a large company in Frankfurt and now she is working for another financial company. As family we love to spend time with family & friends. At least ones a day we eat together to reflect our day and to talk about upcoming things. We respect each other and wait for everyone to finish before we leave the table. My parents taught me to be a respectful and kind person. Of course I help my parents with light housework, such as vacuuming or emptying the dishwasher etc. There is always an occasion to have friends visiting us. My parents are very active and like to travel. I´ve been in almost every country in Europe and spend a couple of times my holidays at the Caribbean and the US (East -and West coast). Sometimes I babysit my little sister or bring her to the playground on our street. Unfortunately my grandparents are both live far away from us, so I only see them a couple of times per year. When we visit them or they come and visit us, I enjoy spending my time with them. When everyone has time, my family and I also do some activities at the weekend like visiting friends/family, going to the swimming pool or just ride my bike to some places. I am not vegetarian or vegan and don’t have any allergies.

Education

At the moment I am in 10th Grade at school. My school is the biggest high school (Gymnasium) in the city and offers a lot of different courses. The school is very close to our house so I am riding my bike to get there. I am not the best student in terms of math, physics and biology, but I love classes like English, German, Ethics, Arts & Philosophy. Since 6 grade I am learning French at school and last year I started Spanish. I used to be the class representative and was member of the social committee of our school. Later I want to go to university and I hope to make a good career.

Hobbies

I am an outgoing, sportive and social person. Since I am 8 years old I am playing field hockey in our local Field Hockey Club. Every winter we travel to North-Italy for our skiing trip. This year we were a group of 16 people and enjoyed our time together very much. I am taking art classes at school as I am very interested in arts since I was a little child. A close friend of my mother studied Art & History and took us always to exhibitions and museums so my childhood was full of creative classes and visits of various museums throughout Europe. I started to play violin when I was 6 years old, but as I didn’t want to practice much, my parents decided after 3 years that it is not the right instrument for me. After my violin experience I was part of the city’s school choir for a couple of years and we even recorded a CD with a famous local artist. In 2017 and 2018 I visited a language course in Boston during my summer holidays. In 2016 & 2017 I had two 2-weeks exchanges with Families in France. We are still in contact with those families and my former guest sister plans to visit us, before I leave for the US. I often meet with my friends. Then we play games like UNO, do our homework, and go to the movies. With some of my friends I also go to exhibitions as the museums a free under the age of 18, and we love to spend time there. My friends are really important for me because I can talk to them about my problems and can just stay the way I am when I’m with them. At home I enjoy being in my room and reading books or watching movies or serials. I also babysit for some families in the neighbourhood, in order to earn some extra pocket money.

Personality

So how am I like? My friends would describe me as humorous, spontaneous, sensitive and friendly person. I am also very reliable and responsible because when my parents want me to do something I always do it. If you have some rules at home I will try to observe and stick to them. In my class, I’m friend with mostly everyone. Even if I don’t like a person very much I try to be friendly and polite. So I am not a person who tends to quarrel. I really love having people around me, laughing with them and having fun. When talking to or meeting somebody the first time I’m a little bit shy but after a short time I’m open-minded. Moreover I’m very independent because I have to do and organize everything on my own. My parents are both working full time and have a lot to organize for my little sister, so I am used to be independent during the day.

USA

I always dreamed of a high school exchange in the US. In my childhood I often had the chance to visit my mum at her workplace. I had a very good relationship with all her US colleagues and their kids, and we even visited some in the US. The second reason for me to attend a high school exchange year is that I would like to make my final exams here in Germany in English, so I will have to learn much better English.

I’m really excited to get to know my new family. You can be sure, that I will adapt to your house and family rules and will try to be your family member. I’m really excited about meeting you in summer and I hope that we will have a great and exciting year. I want to be a part of you and I want to live in harmony with your family.

Finally I would like to thank you again for taking the time to read my letter. I hope to hear from you soon!

Please feel free to share: